Learn how to free files in Windows 10 to optimize the performance of your PC

It is important to eliminate the storage space of the computer from time to time so that it works optimally. These devices often store files that we don't know are there, that we are not going to use and that releasing them means a better functioning of the computer.

These are the so-called junk files, which can be temporary files, which if not deleted remain permanently in memory, or large system updates, which can occupy a large number of gigabytes of backup files. That is why, it is worth explaining how these types of files can be deleted in Windows 10 through different tools.

DISK SPACE LIBERATOR

One of the best known is the 'Disk Space Liberator', which allows you to automatically delete all those unused stored items that are occupying space and that can slow down or hinder the proper functioning of the computer.

To access it, you can type the words 'Disk Cleanup' in the search box and click on the application when it appears. Another option to access the tool, a little longer, is to go to Start, 'Windows Administrative Tools', 'Disk Cleanup'.

If what you want is to free the space of a particular device, you can enter the 'File Explorer', by clicking on the device in question with the right button and accessing 'Properties'. A new window will appear in whose general tab you will find the option of 'Release', next to the graphic where the space it occupies on the device is indicated.

In either case, a new window will open under the name 'Disk Cleanup for' (C :), for example, in case the user wants to clean the space on his computer. The amount of space that can be released at that time will be indicated at the top. For example, "you can use Disk Cleanup to free up to 1.75 gigabytes (GB) of disk space in C:".

Below are the types of files that can be deleted, some of them marked by default as temporary Internet files or thumbnails, with an indication of the amount of space they are occupying inside the computer.

The user can mark and unmark the files they want or not that disappear from the device, respectively. When you have them selected you will have to click on 'Accept' for the action to take effect. Below them, the total disk space that will be recovered appears if they are removed, such as 97.8 megabytes (MB).

Within this tool, there is also the option 'Clean system files' which is accessed by clicking on the button with this name.

DELETE WEB NAVIGATION DATA

On the other hand, other types of junk files are the browsing data that is stored in web browsers and that consist of information collected on the websites that the user has accessed and what they have done on them. These facilitate the speed of access to them when they are re-entered. However, they occupy unnecessary space within the computer itself and can also be deleted from the browser itself.

In the case of Chrome, it is accessed through 'Settings', within the button with three vertical dots located in the upper right corner of the browser. There, you have to access 'Clear browsing data', under 'Advanced settings'. Then, a window will appear with two modes, each with several options: the basic mode and the advanced settings.

The user can select at the top which mode to choose, depending on the type of data collected that he wants to delete. In addition, both share a tab at the top where you can select from what moment the user wants to delete their data, which are 'last hour', 'last 24 hours', 'last seven days', 'last four weeks' and 'forever'.

Thus, in the 'basic' option you can get rid of the 'browsing history', the 'cookies and other site data' and the 'cached files and images'. The first consists of the list of web pages that the user has visited since the browser was launched for the first time or since the last time they deleted their history.

'Cookies and other site data' are information that companies collect through their websites and then offer certain ads or personalized information to the user. He can accept them or not every time he enters a web page.

For its part, the 'files and images stored in cache' are data that are stored from each web page that the user accesses so that the next time he enters it, he loads his content faster. These will continue to be stored every time the user accesses a website again, so this process of deletion will be temporary, although recommended. With its deletion, you can also help those users who have security or privacy problems on their devices.

On the other hand, for a more thorough deletion of the navigation data, the user can opt for the advanced configuration, where in addition to the mentioned data, you can delete the download history, passwords and other login data, the data from autocomplete form, website settings and data from hosted applications like Chrome Web Store.

Once the data to be deleted has been selected, click on the 'Delete data' button that appears in both modes.

To delete this type of data in Firefox, you must access Menu, history, clean recent history. A window will appear where you can select what data to delete, which are browsing and download history, active sessions, forms and search history, cookies, cache, site preferences and website data without Connection. As in Chrome, you can select from what moment you want to proceed with the deletion: 'last hour', 'last two hours', 'last four hours', 'today' and 'everything'.

HIBERNATION CACHE

The hibernation cache consists of an accumulation of data about the applications and files that were open when the PC was turned off so that when it is turned on again, they start faster. However, it is a system that occupies a large amount of memory and if the computer is plugged into an outlet it is recommended to deactivate it and opt for sleep mode.

To do this, you must access at start, click on cmd.exe when it appears in the search box, and select 'Run as administrator'. At the Windows command prompt you will have to paste 'powercfg.exe / hibernate off'. To re-enable it, you will have to paste 'powercfg.exe / hibernate on'.

MANAGE RECYCLING PAPER

When a file is deleted from the system, it goes directly to the recycle bin, but to delete it completely, users have to empty it. This is done by entering the trash can – there is usually a shortcut on the desktop – and clicking on the 'empty trash' button. This action can also be performed from the disk space freezer.

This is not necessary if the user chooses to activate the options found within properties, by clicking on the trashcan icon with the right button. These are to set the amount of storage that you want to include in the bin in the box under the title 'custom size', and that the files are deleted directly without going through the bin.

Categories guide, On