Sometimes, without our knowledge, in Google Chrome adware, malware and unwanted extensions change the settings. Like the default homepages and search engines, they make it almost impossible to change them again. so when reset browser settings, you delete some data and the work is done for you.
Many times, you may have a lot of junk information stored in your browser, which is why its performance may drop. Therefore it is important that you review everything you save there, so that Chrome can run in the best way.
So returning to Chrome's default settings is a good way to keep your browser up to date, fully updated and with the best performance.
What settings are reset?
When you reset Chrome to its default values, a lot of data is deleted, but not all. This is because the passwords you have there are always saved. Your synchronized devices have the same password, so deleting everything at once without your consent could cause you many problems.
While you’re signed in to your Google Chrome account, the following settings will return to the default on all devices you’re currently signed in to:
- Default search engine: switch back to Google.
- Start page and tabs: the Start button, if you have enabled it, will disappear and the start tabs will be deleted.
- New tab page: Changes to the New default tab page with the Google logo, search bar and thumbnails of the most visited sites.
- Anchored tabs: these pages will no longer appear anchored, therefore they will disappear.
- Content settings: This includes a site's access to the camera or microphone, notifications, if pop-ups should be blocked, etc.
- Cookies and site data: All will be deleted.
- Extensions and themes: they will be completely deactivated.
Some settings, such as sources, accessibility features, bookmarks, history, and passwords, will not be affected. If you are looking to delete your Google account completely, then you will have to delete the data that you have synchronized between your devices with your account.
How to reset Chrome settings
First, start Chrome, click on the menu icon and then click on "Settings". Alternatively, you can write:
chrome: // settings / in the Omnibox to go directly there.
Once in the Settings tab, scroll down and click on «Advanced».
Now, scroll down a bit more and click on "Restore settings to original defaults".
Here you have to read the warning, you have to be sure that you want to reset Chrome settings and then click on "Reset settings".
After clicking the button, all the settings listed above are reset to their default values.
If you want to start over while maintaining all your settings, consider setting up multiple profiles, so you can switch between them. You can also delete absolutely everything stored locally and on Google servers.